Who We Are

The Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District was created for the purpose of developing and administering the Fryingpan-Arkansas Project. The District extends along the Arkansas River corridor from Buena Vista to Lamar, and along Fountain Creek from Colorado Springs to Pueblo, Colorado. The District consists of parts of nine counties deriving benefits from project water.
The Colorado State University Arkansas Valley Research Center was established to serve the research needs of the irrigated farming area of southeast Colorado known as the Arkansas Valley, extending from Pueblo County on the west to the Kansas border.

The Bureau of Reclamation created the Water Conservation Field Services Program. The program is designed to encourage water conservation, to assist water agencies with developing and implementing effective water management and conservation plans, to coordinate with state and other local conservation program efforts, and generally to foster improved water management on a regional, statewide and watershed basis.



Weather Stations

Avondale Buena Vista Canon City Colorado Springs Fountain Fowler Golf Course Holly #1Holly #2HowardLa Junta

Lamar #1Lamar #2 Lamar #3 Lamar #4Las Animas Rocky Ford Ark Val RC Penrose Pueblo Salida VinelandWestcliffe


©2008 Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District
All rights reserved
Web Site Design by
Make Mine Magic Web Design